Middle East / Uncategorized

Grumpety grumps

I have to say, I am not feeling the whole writing thing today.

Last night, I was savaged by mosquitoes all night long. My campaign to keep them at bay failed miserably, as the bites on my neck, arms, wrists, hands and feet will attest, and when I did finally manage to drift off, I was woken repeatedly by idiotic Lebanese drivers revving their engines just outside my window. I don’t know what it is with drivers here, but they love to rev their engines. The rest of the road antics here I’ve seen done better elsewhere. Taking red lights as mere suggestions, driving down one way streets the wrong way, parking in the middle of the road – I don’t bat an eyelid at this kind of behaviour after navigating the streets of Dhaka and Manila and Hanoi. But the over revving thing? Now that’s a Lebanese treat all of its own.

After a frenzied day at work, I came home already feeling pretty grumpy about the prospect of not having a job any more (the NGO I work for is going through a major restructure, and I don’t know if I’m still going to have a job after Christmas, but that’s a post for another day). I was SO looking forward to watching a bit of drivel and eating the Reece’s peanut butter cups I’d bought specially. But the internet won’t work unless I sit on the floor by the door to the bathroom, and position my laptop in a very particular 30cm zone. Then it just about works. Sometimes. When it feels like it. For about 10 seconds at a time.

So instead, I sit on my balcony and eat my dinner and glower at the street below, daring any driver to start revving his engine.

I realise this is a big massive whiny moan. Don’t get me wrong. I know this is a rich world problem. I know one night’s broken sleep is no biggie. Heck, I spent the last week chatting to refugees who’ve been forced by war to flee their homes in Syria for a dusty camp in the arse-end of nowhere in Jordan. I know what real problems look like.

But tonight, this is all I’ve got for you. On any ordinary day, I’d probably just take myself off to bed early if I was in this mood. But it seems that NaBloPoMo rather encourages a grumble in me. If anyone’s got any tips on channelling the grumps into better writing, then I’m all ears. Otherwise, I’m afraid you might be reading more moaning from me over the next 25 days…

Leave a Reply

